WPL 2024: A Milestone For Women’s Cricket Excellence

WPL 2024: In the realm of women’s cricket, the Women’s Premier League (WPL) has emerged as a groundbreaking platform to nurture talent and showcase the prowess of female cricketers. The highly anticipated WPL 2024 season promises to be another exhilarating chapter in the history of women’s cricket. This article delves into the key details, teams, schedules, and players of WPL 2024, highlighting the growth and significance of this premier league.

Genesis Of WPL:

The inception of WPL marked a significant milestone for women’s cricket in India. The primary objective of this initiative was to provide a stage for domestic players to flourish and excel. It aimed to create an entry-level platform for emerging talents and a finishing school for seasoned players. The debut season of WPL in 2023 showcased phenomenal gameplay, captivating audiences and garnering widespread attention.

Recap Of WPL 2023:

The inaugural season of WPL in 2023 witnessed fierce competition among five franchises. Mumbai Indians emerged triumphant, clinching the title in a thrilling final against Delhi Capitals. The gripping matches throughout the season displayed the skill and determination of women cricketers, elevating the quality of the sport. Players like Meg Lanning, Natalie Sciver, Shafali Verma, and Harmanpreet Kaur stood out with their exceptional performances, capturing the hearts of cricket enthusiasts.

WPL 2024: Retained And Released Players:

As the anticipation builds for WPL 2024, the five franchises have finalized their squads through player retention. A total of 60 players, including 21 overseas players, have been retained across the teams. Each franchise had the opportunity to release players from their previous squads to make room for new talent. Gujarat Giants, who finished at the bottom of the table in 2023, released 11 players, including Annabel Sutherland and Sophia Dunkley. The other teams also made strategic decisions to retain or release players based on their performance and team dynamics.

Retained Players:

Here is a glimpse of the retained players for each team in WPL 2024:

Mumbai Indians (MI):

  • Harmanpreet Kaur
  • Saika Ishaque
  • Yastika Bhatia
  • Hayley Matthews
  • Isabelle Wong
  • Amanjot Kaur
  • Amelia Kerr
  • Chloe Tryon
  • Humairaa Kaazi
  • Jintimani Kalita
  • Natalie Sciver
  • Pooja Vastrakar
  • Priyanka Bala

Delhi Capitals (DC):

  • Alice Capsey
  • Arundhati Reddy
  • Jemimah Rodrigues
  • Jess Jonassen
  • Laura Harris
  • Marizanne Kapp
  • Meg Lanning
  • Minnu Mani
  • Poonam Yadav
  • Radha Yadav
  • Shafali Verma
  • Shikha Pandey
  • Sneha Deepthi
  • Taniyaa Bhatia
  • Titas Sadhu

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB):

  • Smriti Mandhana
  • Heather Knight
  • Kanika Ahuja
  • Asha Shobana
  • Disha Kasat
  • Ellyse Perry
  • Indrani Roy
  • Renuka Singh
  • Richa Ghosh
  • Shreyanka Patil
  • Sophie Devine

Gujarat Giants (GG):

  • Ashleigh Gardner
  • Beth Mooney
  • Dayalan Hemalatha
  • Harleen Deol
  • Laura Wolvaardt
  • Shabnam Shakil
  • Sneh Rana
  • Tanuja Kanwer

UP Warriorz (UPW):

  • Alyssa Healy
  • Anjali Sarvani
  • Deepti Sharma
  • Grace Harris
  • Kiran Navgire
  • Lauren Bell
  • Laxmi Yadav
  • Parshavi Chopra
  • Rajeshwari Gayakwad
  • S. Yashasri
  • Shweta Sehrawat
  • Sophie Ecclestone
  • Tahlia Mcgrath
Released Players:

While the retained players form the core of each team, certain players have been released to allow for new signings. Here are some notable players who have been released:

  • Neelam Bisht (Mumbai Indians)
  • Dhara Gujjar (Mumbai Indians)
  • Heather Graham (Mumbai Indians)
  • Sonam Yadav (Mumbai Indians)
  • Poonam Khemnar (RCB)
  • Komal Zanzad (RCB)
  • Dané Van Niekerk (RCB)
  • Erin Burns (RCB)
  • Megan Schutt (RCB)
  • Annabel Sutherland (GG)
  • Ashwani Kumari (GG)
  • Georgia Wareham (GG)
  • Hurley Gala (GG)
  • Kim Garth (GG)
  • Mansi Joshi (GG)
  • Monica Patel (GG)
  • Parunika Sisodia (GG)
  • Sabbineni Meghana (GG)
  • Sophia Dunkley (GG)
  • Sushma Verma (GG)
  • Devika Vaidya (UPW)
  • Shabnim Ismail (UPW)
  • Shivali Shinde (UPW)
  • Simran Shaikh (UPW)
  • Tara Norris (DC)
  • Jasia Akhter (DC)
  • Aparna Mondal (DC)
  • Preeti Bose (RCB)
  • Sahana Pawar (RCB)

WPL 2024 Schedule And Venues:

The WPL 2024 is set to captivate cricket enthusiasts with an exciting schedule of matches. The tournament will take place from September 4 to September 26, 2024, with a total of 22 matches being played. The venues for the matches include renowned cricket grounds like DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow, and Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Here is a snapshot of the WPL 2024 Schedule:

WPL 2024 Schedule:
Date Venue Match
September 4 DY Patil Stadium Gujarat Giants vs Mumbai Indians
September 5 Brabourne – CCI Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals
September 5 DY Patil Stadium UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants
September 6 Brabourne – CCI Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
September 7 DY Patil Stadium Delhi Capitals vs UP Warriorz
September 8 Brabourne – CCI Gujarat Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
September 9 DY Patil Stadium Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians
September 10 Brabourne – CCI Royal Challengers Bangalore vs UP Warriorz
September 11 DY Patil Stadium Gujarat Giants vs Delhi Capitals
September 12 Brabourne – CCI UP Warriorz vs Mumbai Indians
September 13 DY Patil Stadium Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
September 14 Brabourne – CCI Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Giants
September 15 DY Patil Stadium UP Warriorz vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
September 16 Brabourne – CCI Delhi Capitals vs Gujarat Giants
September 18 DY Patil Stadium Mumbai Indians vs UP Warriorz
September 18 Brabourne – CCI Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Giants
September 20 Brabourne – CCI Gujarat Giants vs UP Warriorz
September 20 DY Patil Stadium Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals
September 21 DY Patil Stadium Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians
September 21 Brabourne – CCI UP Warriorz vs Delhi Capitals
September 24 DY Patil Stadium Mumbai Indians Women vs UP Warriorz, Eliminator
September 26 Brabourne – CCI Delhi Capitals Women vs TBC, Final

A Platform For Women’s Empowerment – WPL 2024:

The Women’s Premier League has become a symbol of empowerment for women in cricket. The tournament not only showcases their remarkable skills but also inspires aspiring young players to pursue their dreams in the sport. With the success of each season, the WPL reinforces the notion that women can excel in cricket and break barriers with their talent and determination.

Conclusion – WPL 2024:

As the countdown to WPL 2024 begins, cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the thrilling matches and exceptional performances from the talented women cricketers. This premier league has elevated the status of women’s cricket, providing a platform for players to shine and inspiring a generation of cricket lovers. Stay tuned for the action-packed WPL 2024 and witness the rise of women’s cricket at its finest.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the available sources and is subject to change as per official announcements by the respective authorities.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *